Deputy Governor (USA) - Thosada Rose (Namnan)

She was a brilliant racehorse winning the Group 1 NZ One Thousand Guineas, she also won the Group 3 Eulogy Stakes, Group 3 Desert Gold Stakes and was placed in the Group 1 NZ Derby in a fantastic three-year-old campaign. As a four-year-old she went on to win the Group 2 Japan-New Zealand International Trophy. Her 2003 Zabeel colt, named Bettws, is a stakes performer with the David Hayes stable. 

Clear Rose




Chestnut mareFoaled in 1992

SireMaster WillieHigh LineHigh Hat
1984Regent MissVice RegentNorthern Dancer
  Later MissMister Jive
DamNamnanNever BendNasrullah
THOSADA ROSE Come Hither LookTurn-to
1979Street RoseStreetfighterAggressor
  French RoseFrench Beige

DEPUTY GOVERNOR (USA) (1984). 5 wins, Hollywood John Henry H., Gr.1. Sire of 491 rnrs, 326 wnrs, 30 SW, inc. Leica Guv (New Zealand Derby, Gr.1), Zirna, Clear Rose, etc. Sire of the dams of 513 rnrs, 303 wnrs, 15 SW, inc. War Horse, Sale of Century, Deputy Jud, Folding Gear, La Etoile, Royal Success, Crafty Irna, Eel Win, Al Farouk, Magic Mark, Sir Gus, City Lad, Clint, Warm Smytzer, Heguy, SP Hot Pursuit, La Vienne, Nicole Amy, Fantastic Dancer, Illinois Girl, etc.


1st dam

THOSADA ROSE, by Namnan. 3 wins-2 at 2-at 1100m, 1200m, HBJC Gold Trail S., Gr.3, Manawatu RC Nursery H., 2d Manawatu RC Taarup H., WRC Wilton H., 4th WRC Wakefield Challenge S., Gr.2. Dam of seven named foals, all winners-

CLEAR ROSE (f. by Deputy Governor). 6 wins. See below.

LAMOUR (f. by Deputy Governor). 3 wins-1 at 2-from 1000m to 1600m, CJC Welcome S., L, WRC Super Series Consolation H., Yes for the Stadium Improvers H., 2d Queensland Oaks, Gr.1, CJC Pepsi H., Manawatu RC Royal Hong Kong Jockey Club Trophy. Dam of-

WARM SMYTZER (Zabeel). 2 wins at 1400m, 2200m, Geelong RC Oaks Trial S., L, VATC Arborea H. Dam of-

Maling. 6 wins from 1400m to 2200m, A$178,625, AJC Lawler Partners Chartered Accountants H., BRC Coca Cola Amatil H., Operation Smile Australia H., Ormiston College Redbacks H., 2d BRC Powerade H., The Good Guys H., Winning Edge Racing Merchandise P., 3d BRC XXXX Gold H., 4th BRC Queensland Cup, L.

Maraaseem. 4 wins from 1300m to 1600m, A$205,223, VRC Rivette Series Final H., MRC Le Pine Funerals H., AR Blackwood H., 2d MRC Race-Tech H., SAJC Trevor Little OAM H., VRC Asian Young Guns Challenge H., 3d MRC Blixen 2YO H. Dam of-

Nadawaat. Winner at 2, SAJC Darley 2YO P.

Musanid - Extra Special (H.K.). 2 wins at 1000m, 1250m, MRC New Gleam H., SAJC Skycity Adelaide H., 2d SAJC Distinctive Lifestyle 2YO H., HKJC MacWhinnie Cup H., MRC Wheatear H., SAJC Second Chance Draw Every Saturday H., 3d HKJC Ninepin Group H.

Fantastic Dancer (Fantastic Light). 5 wins from 1600m to 2000m, NZ$29,400, HK$2,178,125, Avondale JC Fumacare H., HKJC Money Talks H., Parkes H., Williams Cup H., 2d Waikato Guineas, Gr.3, HKJC French Racing & Breeding H., Philadelphia H., Sports Road H., Harcourt H., 3d HKJC CUHK Alumni Cup, Michael's Choice H., Mission Hills Golf Club H.

Costa Mucho. 8 wins from 1350m to 1800m, QTC Mates Day Out Boxing Day H., 3d BRC Foster's Group H.

Kailey Lamour. 3 wins at 1400m, 1700m, MRC Samuel Griffiths H., 2d MRC Summer Fair H., Red Fury H., Winooka H., 3d MRC Always Welcome H., SAJC Blue Murder P.

Ghizhou. Winner at 1600m, 2d SAJC Danzig Connection P. Producer.

Word of Honour - Twin Dragons (H.K.) (c. by Deputy Governor). 5 wins-1 at 2-from 850m to 2000m, NZ$5,100, HK$2,426,078, ARC Ra Ora Stud Juvenile S., HKJC Chinese Recreation Club Challenge Cup H., Wong Tai Sin H., Lantau Peak H., Swaine Cup H., 2d HKJC Morse Jug H., 3d Avondale JC Magness Benrow H., HKJC Tianjin H., Nam Fung H., Football Club Centenary Challenge Cup.

Imperial Rose (f. by Deputy Governor). 2 wins at 1200m, 1400m, Otaki Maori RC Wellington Guineas Trial. Dam of-

Barberry Roze. 4 wins to 1400m, CJC Angus Meats H., McMillan Equine Feeds H., 2d Otago RC Packaging Supplies H., WRC Echoes of Heaven at Linwood Park Stud H., 3d Otago RC K Jet H.

Ishiarose. 3 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Taranaki RC Sportys Bar & Cafe H., 2d Hawkes Bay Wairoa Wanderers H., 3d Hawkes Bay Let's Go to Turks H., Desert Gold Club H., 4th Levin RC Ryder S., L.

Academy. Winner at 1400m, 2d Waikato RC H., Beatson Stables H., 3d Taranaki RC Farnsworth Roofing H., Waikato RC Fusion Print Group H., WRC Zephyr it Can be a Breeze H.

Fair Bianca. 4 wins from 1500m to 2300m in Aust.

Nalssaendori. Winner at 1000m in Korea.

Love Blooms. Winner at 1300m.

Delgardo - Lucky Flyer (H.K.) (g. by Creag-An-Sgor). Winner at 2, BOP RC Masonic Tavern Juvenile S., 2d HKJC The One H., 3d HKJC Amah Rock H., Shun Hing H.

Grasp the Nettle (c. by Deputy Governor). 2 wins at 2000m in South Africa.

The Leveller - Yours Faithfully (H.K.) (c. by Gaius). Winner at 2, 4th Taranaki 2YO Classic, Gr.3.


2nd dam

STREET ROSE, by Streetfighter. Unraced. Dam of 4 named foals, 3 to race, inc:-

THOSADA ROSE (Namnan). 3 wins. See above.


Race Record:

Joint top filly on The 1995-96 3YO Free H. 6 wins-1 at 2-at 1000m, 1600m, NZ$273,425, A$7,500, New Zealand One Thousand Guineas, Gr.1, BOP RC Japan-New Zealand International Trophy, Gr.2, Manawatu RC Eulogy S., Gr.3, WRC Desert Gold S., Gr.3, Counties RC Eddie Farnell H., 2d New Zealand Derby, Gr.1, 3d Te Aroha JC New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' S., Gr.2, Avondale JC Staples Rodway H., 4th GCTC AD Hollindale Cup, Gr.2.


Produce Record: Dam of eleven foals, ten to race, five winners.

1998 f. Rainbow Chaser, by Octagonal. Unplaced. Dam of-

Lucky Miracle. Winner at 1400m in Korea.

1999 f. Avert, by Zabeel. Unraced. Dam of-

Preventable. 4 wins from 1400m to 1600m, A$103,155, MRC Betfair H., 2d MRC AR Blackwood H.

Myonerose. 6 wins from 1300m to 1850m in Aust.

Notify. 2 wins at 1600m, 1700m in Aust.

Dashing. Winner at 1750m in Aust.

Avoided. Placed at 3 in Aust. Dam of-

Kisskissbangbang. 10 wins to 1400m to 2017 in Philippines.

2000 f. Crystalline, by Zabeel. Winner at 2000m. Dam of-

BASS STRAIT (Holy Roman Emperor). 4 wins from 1300m to 1700m, A$463,680, WATC RJ Peters S., Gr.3, MRC TMB Printing H., Sportingbet H., 2d MRC David Jones Cup, Gr.3, WATC RJ Peters S., Gr.3, Carbine Club of WA S., L, MRC Swettenham Stud Summer Championship Heat 8 H., New Zealand Bloodstock H., 3d WATC CB Cox S., Gr.2-twice, Bendigo JC Yalumba Golden Mile, L, 4th MVRC Alister Clark S., Gr.2, MRC TS Carlyon Cup, Gr.3, WATC Belmont Sprint, Gr.3, Asian Beau S., Gr.3.

Traded. 4 wins from 1800m to 2800m in Aust.

Lucidity. Winner at 1200m in 2017-18.

2002 f. Ruppertsberg, by Montjeu. Raced twice. Dam of-

Adolay (Fast 'n' Famous). 3 wins from 1100m to 2100m, ARC Grace Removals Group H., 2d CJC Inglewood S., L, ARC Auckland Co-Op Taxis H., 4th CJC Warstep S., L.

Meritaggio. 5 wins from 1400m to 1600m, NZ$86,050, to 2017-18, BOP RC Preston Rowe Paterson H., 2d ARC Bestaff H., Taranaki RC ITM Interprovincial H.-twice, Landmark Homes H., Waikato RC Pathway Immigration Specialists H., 3d Matamata RC Comag H., NZB Insurance Pearl Series H.

Sky Rocket. 2 wins at 1200m to 2018, Singapore TC Initiation P., Mexican Rose S., 3d Singapore TC Always Certain S.

2003 g. Bettws, by Zabeel. 2 wins at 1600m, 1950m, 2d SAJC Marina Pier H., 3d SAJC Hill Smith S., L.

2005 g. Giant Blizzard, by Giant's Causeway. Unplaced.

2006 g. Te Kauwhata, by Johar. Raced once.

2008 f. Vintage Rose, by Darci Brahma. Winner at 1400m, Singapore TC Always Fast Initiation P.

2009 f. Translucence, by Darci Brahma. Winner at 2100m.

2011 f. Rock Rose, by Road to Rock. Winner at 1600m.

2013 f. Verdant, by Redwood. Placed in 2017-18.


Missed in 2004, 2010, 2012; slipped in 2001; not served in 2006.