Catbird (Aus) - Alpine (Zabeel)

Winner of the Listed Wairarapa Breeders' Stakes at Tauherenikau. She showed a lot of racing ability. The winner of four races and Group 2 placegetter in the Travis Stakes at Te Rapa. Family of Group 1 winner Lord Ted and top racing performer Melody Belle. Her first foal has been placed in the 2012/13 racing season and she was served by Rip Van Winkle in 2012.





Brown mareFoaled in 2002

SireDanehillDanzigNorthern Dancer
CATBIRD (AUS) RazyanaHis Majesty
DamZabeelSir TristramSir Ivor
ALPINE Lady GiselleNureyev
1997Manawa BelleZamazaanExbury
  Melody BelleTaipan II

CATBIRD (AUS) (1996). 5 wins at 2, STC Golden Slipper S., Gr.1. Sire of 615 rnrs, 439 wnrs, 25 SW, inc. Cats Fun (WATC Derby, Gr.1), Green Birdie, Chartreux, etc. Sire of the dams of 507 rnrs, 292 wnrs, 12 SW, inc. Entisaar, Enzo's Lad, Hawkspur, Lady Royale, Catkins, Mystic Prince, Invincible Star, Devil Hawk, Pinch River, Silversands, Real Charm, Atacama, SP Highway, Beaumarchais, Hetty Heights, Wudang Mountain, Al Valore, Alien, Thunder Bay, etc.


1st dam

ALPINE, by Zabeel. Placed at 3 in Aust. Sister to Manawa King, half-sister to LORD TED, Zipperup (dam of CHAMPION STAR). Dam of nine named foals, all raced, five winners, inc:-

HASSELHOOF (g. by Tavistock). 6 wins from 1400m to 2100m, NZ$151,245, A$16,650, ARC Rich Hill Mile, Gr.2, Dunstan Feeds H., 3d Hawkes Bay Livamol Classic, Gr.1, ATC Parramatta Cup, L, Waikato RC J Swap Contractors Sprint H., L, Whangarei RC Harcourts Optimize Group H.

VERCORS (f. by Catbird). 4 wins. See below.

Huluava (f. by Pins). 3 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Matamata RC Challenge H., Waikato RC Pace Engineering H., 2d Hawkes Bay Te Runga 3YO H., QTC Lyndhurst Stud H., Waikato RC Seachange H., 3d ARC Barfoot & Thompson H. Dam of-

William Wallace. 5 wins to 1400m to 2017-18, CJC New Zealand Bloodstock Insurance H., David Emerson Accountant H., Ipswich TC Ray White Ipswich H., 2d CJC Vernon and Vazey Truck Parts H., Corin Murfitt-Thanks for 50 Years H., NZ Tax Refunds H., WRC Greenman Pub H.

Hvala. 2 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Avondale JC NZB Insurance Pearl Series H.

Bob. 2 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Singapore TC Initiation P., Kranji D S., 2d Singapore TC Initiation P., Class 4 H.-twice, Better Than Ever S., Singapore Airlines Boeing 727 S., Kranji D S.-twice, 3d Singapore TC Initiation P., Class 4 H.-twice, Panasonic Digital Signage S.

Hoofsain Bolt. Winner at 1600m.

Maraini (c. by Exceed and Excel). Winner at 1200m in 2016-17, 2d Waikato RC Christmas at the Races 17th December H.

Wonderful Approach (g. by Spartacus). Winner at 1600m, Singapore TC Perak Turf Club Trophy.

Alpine Belle (f. by Rock of Gibraltar). Unplaced. Dam of-

Secretan. 3 wins at 1000m, A$91,549, to 2016-17, 2d Bendigo JC DPR Insurance Brokers H., MRC Blue Star Group H.

Banghai. 3 wins to 1200m in Aust.

Qian Cheng. Winner at 1200m in 2017-18.


2nd dam

MANAWA BELLE, by Zamazaan. Raced once. Dam of 12 foals, 9 to race, 5 winners, inc:-

LORD TED (Lord Ballina). Joint Head of The 1995-96 NZ 2YO Free H. 2 wins at 2, NZ$94,000, A$70,030, ARC Ellerslie Sires' Produce S., Gr.1, Waikato RC Coca-Cola Juvenile S., 2d SAJC Adelaide Cup, Gr.1, WRC Wakefield Challenge S., Gr.3, VATC Whittier H., 4th South Australian Derby, Gr.1, WRC Magic Millions Classic S., RL.

Manawa King (Zabeel). 4 wins from 1450m to 2100m, A$249,000, MRC Beaulivre H., Prince Salieri H., 2d AJC Sydney Cup, Gr.1, VRC Queen Elizabeth S., Gr.2, 3d VRC Tooheys New Deck Bar H.

Liberty Belle. Raced once. Dam of-

Willie Command. 11 wins from 1400m to 3000m, NZ$8,063, A$241,040, MRC Redcraze H., VRC Sidney Myer H., Lawn H., MRC Beer Street H., 2d VRC Michael Osborne Tribute H., 3d MRC Robert Taranto H., Neerim H., Waikato RC Rich Hill Stud H., 4th SAJC Carlton Draught S., Gr.3.

Zipperup. Unraced. Dam of-

CHAMPION STAR (Soviet Star). 11 wins from 1000m to 2100m, A$172,300, M$913,275 in Aust. and Macau, QTC Easter Cup, L, BTC Dooley's Hotel H., Grant Thornton H., QTC M Ryan H., Bravery H., 2d GCTC Emirates Park H., 3d Qld Tatt's RC Recognition S., L, QTC Smartline Home Loans H., David Laing Farewell H.


3rd dam

MELODY BELLE, by Taipan II. 10 wins-2 at 2-from 1000m to 1600m, Te Aroha JC New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' S., Gr.3, ARC Ladies Mile, L, Avondale JC Concorde H., L, BOP RC Centennial Breeders' S., L, Whakatane Board Mills H., ARC Bledisloe H., Franklin RC South Auckland Breeders' P.H., Waipa RC Flying H., ARC Goodwood S.H., 2d ARC George Adams (Tatt's) H., Gr.2, HBJC Gold Trail S., Gr.3, Te Aroha JC Thames Valley S., Gr.3, Avondale JC Stretto S., L, Te Aroha JC All Aged S., L-twice, 3d ARC Easter H., Gr.1, Avondale JC Classic S., Gr.3. Three-quarter-sister to SHUMANSHU, Rickshaw (dam of PARADISE BELLE), Belle Tai (dam of BELLE DE CHINE). Dam of 5 named foals, 4 to race, 2 winners, inc:-

Swanee Belle. 4 wins to 1400m, ARC Grey H., Waikato RC Christie H., 2d Waikato RC Three Legs H., 3d ARC Bledisloe H., Tiri H., Waiatarua H. Producer.


Race Record:

4 wins at 1400m, 1600m, NZ$86,795, Wairarapa Thoroughbred Breeders' S., L, Hawkes Bay Agri-Lab Products H., Manawatu RC CB Norwood H., 2d Waikato RC Team Don Ha Project Marketing H., Avondale JC Fruit World H., 3d Cambridge JC Travis S., Gr.2.


Produce Record: Dam of three named foals, all winners.

2009 f. Villars, by Stratum. 2 wins at 1600m.

2012 g. Esprit de Corps, by Bel Esprit. Winner at 1400m, 2d BOP RC Mount RSA H., Rotorua RC Van Dyk Furnishers H., 3d Counties RC Securi-Com H., Rotorua RC BDO Rotorua H.

2013 f. Trois Vallees, by Rip Van Winkle. Winner at 1400m in 2017-18.

2014 f. by Cape Blanco.

2016 f. by Wandjina.

2017 foal by Tavistock. Dead.


Missed in 2010, 2011, 2015.

Served by Sweynesse.