Zabeel - Manawa Belle (Zamazaan)

A half-sister to the Group 1 winner Lord Ted, Alpine is one of those valuable Zabeel mares which will undoubtedly carry on the influence of the champion NZ sire for many years to come. Alpine is the dam of two foals to race, both winners, namely the Listed winner Vercors and the three race winner Huluava. She is believed to be in foal this season to Champion Australian two-year-old sire Exceed and Excel.





Bay mareFoaled in 1997

SireSir TristramSir IvorSir Gaylord
ZABEEL IsoltRound Table
1986Lady GiselleNureyevNorthern Dancer
  ValdernaVal de Loir
DamZamazaanExburyLe Haar
1984Melody BelleTaipan IIBold Ruler
  Belle of AscotSummertime

ZABEEL (NZ) (1986). 7 wins, Australian Guineas, Gr.1. Champion Aust. B/mare Sire 3 times. Champion NZ B/mare Sire 4 times. Sire of 1525 rnrs, 1108 wnrs, 166 SW, inc. Octagonal, etc. Sire of the dams of 2798 rnrs, 1902 wnrs, 38 Gr.1 wnrs, inc. SW Tarzino, Dundeel, Ocean Park, Silent Achiever, Headturner, Avantage, El Dorado Dreaming, Hiyaam, Pinot, Bonneval, Humidor, Rangipo, Xtravagant, Clearly Innocent, Fenway, Go Indy Go, O'Marilyn, Werther, Sense of Occasion, Commanding Jewel, etc.


1st dam

MANAWA BELLE, by Zamazaan. Raced once. Dam of twelve foals, nine to race, five winners, inc:-

LORD TED (g. by Lord Ballina). Joint Head of The 1995-96 NZ 2YO Free H. 2 wins at 2, NZ$94,000, A$70,030, ARC Ellerslie Sires' Produce S., Gr.1, Waikato RC Coca-Cola Juvenile S., 2d SAJC Adelaide Cup, Gr.1, WRC Wakefield Challenge S., Gr.3, VATC Whittier H., 4th South Australian Derby, Gr.1, WRC Magic Millions Classic S., RL.

Manawa King (g. by Zabeel). 4 wins from 1450m to 2100m, A$249,000, MRC Beaulivre H., Prince Salieri H., 2d AJC Sydney Cup, Gr.1, VRC Queen Elizabeth S., Gr.2, 3d VRC Tooheys New Deck Bar H.

Sir Manawa (g. by Ustinov). 2 wins at 2200m, 3000m, 2d CJC Vero Insurance National Amateur Championship H.

Black Garnet (c. by Grosvenor). 3 wins from 1400m to 1800m in Aust.

Jury Belle (f. by Justice Prevails). Winner at 1600m.

Alpine (f. by Zabeel). See below.

Liberty Belle (f. by Conquistarose). Raced once. Dam of-

Willie Command. 11 wins from 1400m to 3000m, NZ$8,063, A$241,040, MRC Redcraze H., VRC Sidney Myer H., Lawn H., MRC Beer Street H., 2d VRC Michael Osborne Tribute H., 3d MRC Robert Taranto H., Neerim H., Waikato RC Rich Hill Stud H., 4th SAJC Carlton Draught S., Gr.3.

Go Libby Go. Winner at 1600m, 3d Rotorua RC Motorsports Car Sales H.

Manawa Princess (f. by Cape Cross). Unraced. Dam of-

Silver Alloy. 2 wins at 1600m, 1950m in Macau.

Zipperup (f. by Tights). Unraced. Dam of-

CHAMPION STAR (Soviet Star). 11 wins from 1000m to 2100m, A$172,300, M$913,275 in Aust. and Macau, QTC Easter Cup, L, BTC Dooley's Hotel H., Grant Thornton H., QTC M Ryan H., Bravery H., 2d GCTC Emirates Park H., 3d Qld Tatt's RC Recognition S., L, QTC Smartline Home Loans H., David Laing Farewell H.

Fortune Bravo. 4 wins at 1650m, HK$3,001,025, HKJC Hong Kong Country Club Challenge Cup, Pine H., Sports Road H., Causeway Bay H., 2d HKJC Shek O H., Peridot H., Tolo Harbour H., Wong Ma Tei H., Neptune H., 3d HKJC Lancashire H., Omega H.

Eduardo - Golden Friends (Sing.). 4 wins at 1900m, 2000m, Singapore TC Class 5 H.-twice, Abundance H., Rocket Man S., 2d Singapore TC Class 4 H., 3d Singapore TC Initiation P., Class 5 H.

Capezio. Placed at 3. Dam of-

Don'stopgirl. 2 wins at 1600m to 2016-17.


2nd dam

MELODY BELLE, by Taipan II. 10 wins-2 at 2-from 1000m to 1600m, Te Aroha JC New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders' S., Gr.3, ARC Ladies Mile, L, Avondale JC Concorde H., L, BOP RC Centennial Breeders' S., L, Whakatane Board Mills H., ARC Bledisloe H., Franklin RC South Auckland Breeders' P.H., Waipa RC Flying H., ARC Goodwood S.H., 2d ARC George Adams (Tatt's) H., Gr.2, HBJC Gold Trail S., Gr.3, Te Aroha JC Thames Valley S., Gr.3, Avondale JC Stretto S., L, Te Aroha JC All Aged S., L-twice, 3d ARC Easter H., Gr.1, Avondale JC Classic S., Gr.3. Three-quarter-sister to SHUMANSHU, Rickshaw (dam of PARADISE BELLE), Belle Tai (dam of BELLE DE CHINE). Dam of 5 named foals, 4 to race, 2 winners, inc:-

Swanee Belle. 4 wins to 1400m, ARC Grey H., Waikato RC Christie H., 2d Waikato RC Three Legs H., 3d ARC Bledisloe H., Tiri H., Waiatarua H. Dam of-

Show Belle. Unraced. Dam of-

Showgirl (Volksraad). 5 wins from 1600m to 2100m, NZ$121,735, ARC Crombie Lockwood H., Something for the Ladies H., Dunstan Stayers' Championship Qualifier, Waikato RC GE Money H., 2d Manawatu RC Awapuni Gold Cup, Gr.2, 3d ARC Championship S., Gr.2, Waikato RC Sir Tristram Fillies Classic, Gr.2, New Zealand St Leger, L, 4th ARC Royal S., Gr.2. Producer.

Ragtime Belle. Unplaced. Dam of-

Western Line (Stark South). 7 wins from 1600m to 2800m, NZ$163,635, Stratford Cup, 2d Canterbury Gold Cup, Gr.3, CJC Winter Classic S.H., L, Manawatu RC Courtesy Ford H., Waikato RC New Zealand Bloodstock H., 3d Taumarunui Gold Cup, L, WRC Trentham Gold Cup, ARC Great Northern Hurdle, 4th Canterbury Gold Cup, Gr.3.


Race Record:

Placed at 3 in Aust.


Produce Record: Dam of nine named foals, all raced, five winners.

2002 f. VERCORS, by Catbird. 4 wins at 1400m, 1600m, NZ$86,795, Wairarapa Thoroughbred Breeders' S., L, Hawkes Bay Agri-Lab Products H., Manawatu RC CB Norwood H., 2d Waikato RC Team Don Ha Project Marketing H., Avondale JC Fruit World H., 3d Cambridge JC Travis S., Gr.2. Dam of-

Esprit de Corps. Winner at 1400m, 2d BOP RC Mount RSA H., Rotorua RC Van Dyk Furnishers H., 3d Counties RC Securi-Com H., Rotorua RC BDO Rotorua H.

Villars. 2 wins at 1600m.

Trois Vallees. Winner at 1400m in 2017-18.

2003 f. Huluava, by Pins. 3 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Matamata RC Challenge H., Waikato RC Pace Engineering H., 2d Hawkes Bay Te Runga 3YO H., QTC Lyndhurst Stud H., Waikato RC Seachange H., 3d ARC Barfoot & Thompson H. Dam of-

William Wallace. 5 wins to 1400m to 2017-18, CJC New Zealand Bloodstock Insurance H., David Emerson Accountant H., Ipswich TC Ray White Ipswich H., 2d CJC Vernon and Vazey Truck Parts H., Corin Murfitt-Thanks for 50 Years H., NZ Tax Refunds H., WRC Greenman Pub H.

Hvala. 2 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Avondale JC NZB Insurance Pearl Series H.

Bob. 2 wins at 1400m, 1600m, Singapore TC Initiation P., Kranji D S., 2d Singapore TC Initiation P., Class 4 H.-twice, Better Than Ever S., Singapore Airlines Boeing 727 S., Kranji D S.-twice, 3d Singapore TC Initiation P., Class 4 H.-twice, Panasonic Digital Signage S.

Hoofsain Bolt. Winner at 1600m.

2005 f. Alpine Belle, by Rock of Gibraltar. Unplaced. Dam of-

Secretan. 3 wins at 1000m, A$91,549, to 2016-17, 2d Bendigo JC DPR Insurance Brokers H., MRC Blue Star Group H.

Banghai. 3 wins to 1200m in Aust.

Qian Cheng. Winner at 1200m in 2017-18.

2006 g. Wonderful Approach, by Spartacus. Winner at 1600m, Singapore TC Perak Turf Club Trophy.

2007 foal by Falkirk. Dead.

2008 g. Pin O'Noir, by Pins. Unplaced.

2010 g. All Okay, by Alamosa. Unplaced.

2011 g. HASSELHOOF, by Tavistock. 6 wins from 1400m to 2100m, NZ$151,245, A$16,650, ARC Rich Hill Mile, Gr.2, Dunstan Feeds H., 3d Hawkes Bay Livamol Classic, Gr.1, ATC Parramatta Cup, L, Waikato RC J Swap Contractors Sprint H., L, Whangarei RC Harcourts Optimize Group H.

2013 c. Maraini, by Exceed and Excel. Winner at 1200m in 2016-17, 2d Waikato RC Christmas at the Races 17th December H.

2014 g. Hibernator, by Rip Van Winkle. Unplaced.

2016 f. by Tavistock.


Missed in 2004, 2009, 2012, 2017; not served in 2014.